Mnangagwa swears in Commission of Inquiry into 1 August violence


President Emmerson Mnangagwa today swore in the Commission of Inquiry into the 1 August violence in which six people were killed when violence broke out in the capital as people waited for the 30 July election results.

The seven-member commission is headed by former South African President Kgalema Motlanthe.

Other members are British lawyer Rodney Dixon, former Commonwealth Secretary-general Chief Emeka Anyouko, former Tanzania Defence Forces chief General Davis Mwamunyange, University of Zimbabwe lecturers Charity Manyeruke and Lovemore Madhuku, and former President of the Law Society of Zimbabwe Vimbai Nyemba.

The Commission was given three months to report which means it should do so before Christmas.



Don't be shellfish... Please SHARETweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on LinkedIn
Email this to someone
Print this page

Like it? Share with your friends!

The Insider

The Insider is a political and business bulletin about Zimbabwe, edited by Charles Rukuni. Founded in 1990, it was a printed 12-page subscription only newsletter until 2003 when Zimbabwe's hyper-inflation made it impossible to continue printing.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *