MDC Alliance principals meet to map way forward


Principals of the parties that formed the Movement for Democracy Change Alliance on Saturday today met to “plot the signposts” to next year’s elections, Morgan Tsvangirai’s spokesman Luke Tamborinyoka said in a statement.

Seven parties formed the Alliance but Tamborinyoka did not state whether all the parties were represented.

There were media reports today that Tendai Biti’s Progressive Democratic Party was not part of the Alliance but attended Saturday’s launch in solidarity with Tsvangirai.

Tsvangirai’s deputy Thokozani Khupe and other senior party officials in Bulawayo were assaulted at the weekend for not attending the launch leading to the suspension of five MDC-T officials.

Tamborinyoka said the meeting was in compliance with the agreement signed by the parties which stipulated that the party leaders should meet as the Coalition Principals’ Forum.

“The leaders focused their attention today on plotting the signposts to 2018 by outlining key programmes of action which will be elaborated on and implemented by the various committees of the Alliance,” Tamborinyoka said.

“The leaders agreed to proceed with provincial launches of the MDC Alliance, with the next one scheduled for Bulawayo on Saturday, 26 August 2017.”

The Alliance is made up of Tsvangirai’s MDC, Transform Zimbabwe,  Welshman Ncube’s MDC, Zimbabwe People First, the Multi-Racial Christian Democratic Party, People’s Democratic Party and ZANU-Ndonga.

Continued next page


Don't be shellfish... Please SHARETweet about this on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on LinkedIn
Email this to someone
Print this page

Like it? Share with your friends!

The Insider

The Insider is a political and business bulletin about Zimbabwe, edited by Charles Rukuni. Founded in 1990, it was a printed 12-page subscription only newsletter until 2003 when Zimbabwe's hyper-inflation made it impossible to continue printing.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *